The Region's Team Of Northwest Indiana


Five Oilmen Earn All-NL Honors

08/04/2023 2:57 PM -

Whiting, Ind. – Aug. 4, 2023 – A trio of Northwest Indiana Oilmen pitchers and a pair of position players were recognized as the Northern League revealed its 2023 all-league team and major award winners on Friday.

Randy Seymour and Kevin Denty represented the Oilmen position-player contingent on the all-league squad, while Brandon Laux, Tyler Laux and Joey Turek were all named to the All-NL Team.

Seymour posted a .331 batting average, .406 on-base percentage and .516 slugging percentage this summer, while compiling a .318 average to go along with a .519 on-base percentage and .465 slugging.

Turek compiled a 2.60 ERA over his nine starts, logging 52 innings while racking up 47 strikeouts against just four walks. Brandon Laux posted a 2.91 ERA in 46 1/3 innings of work while striking out 50, and his older brother Tyler’s ERA stood at 2.19 while he struck out 33 and walked eight over 37 innings. Turek was one of two unanimous All-NL choices.

The Oilmen will begin the playoffs on Saturday night at 7:10 p.m. against the Southland Vikings at Oil City Stadium.

2023 NL Major Awards 

MVP - Dawson Willis, Elkhart County 

Pitcher of the Year, Nolen Vlcek, Southland 

Manager of the Year - Justin Huisman, Lake County 

2023 All-Northern League Team


Nolen Vlcek, Southland (unanimous) 

Joey Turek, NWI (unanimous) 

Brandon Laux, NWI 

Tyler Laux, NWI 

Ryan Troxel, Lake County 

Conor Gausselin, Elkhart County 

Position Players 

Catcher - Ranko Stevanovic, Lake County 

Middle Infield - Dawson Willis (EC), Kevin Hall (LC) and Randy Seymour (NWI) 

Corner Infield - Bryce Lesher (EC) and Kevin Bushnell (IND) 

Outfield - Owen Winters (LC), Nic Altobelli (GRIF), George Bilecki (IND) and Kevin Denty (NWI) 

Northern League Manager of the Year History
2023 – Justin Huisman, Lake County Corn Dogs
2022 – Justin Huisman, Lake County Corn Dogs
2021 – Joe Silva, Joliet Generals
2020 – Isaac Valdez, Crestwood Panthers
2019 – Jake Wegner, Bloomington Bobcats
2018 – Ben Caple, DuPage County Hounds
2017 – Kevin Franchetti, Southland Vikings
2016 – Tom Barry, Joliet Admirals
2015 – Sean Osborne, DuPage County Hounds

Northern League MVP History
2023 – Dawson Willis, Elkhart County
2022 – Michael Gould, Joliet Generals
2021 – Bryce Vincent, Joliet Generals
2020 – Ray Hilbrich, Crestwood Panthers
2019 – Nick Santoro, DuPage County Hounds
2018 – Nate Montgomery, NWI Oilmen
2017 – Jack Butler, Bloomington Bobcats
2016 – Tyler Sroczynski, NWI Oilmen
2015 – Tyler Sroczynski, NWI Oilmen
2014 – Bobby Sheppard & Jeff Boehm, Southland Vikings

Northern League Pitcher of the Year History
2023 – Nolan Vlcek, Southland Vikings
2022 – Ryan Troxel, Lake County Corn Dogs
2021 – Jack Guzek, NWI Oilmen
2020 – Jordan Smevoll, DuPage County Hounds
2019 – Justin Rios, Southland Vikings
2018 – Quinn Gudaitis, Bloomington Bobcats
2017 – Kevin Glynn, Southland Vikings
2016 – Mitch Weis, Bloomington Bobcats
2015 – Tom Concklin, DuPage County Hounds