The Region's Team Of Northwest Indiana


Oilmen Quartet Earns All-MCL Honors

08/18/2020 8:52 AM -

Whiting, Ind. – Aug. 18, 2020 – The Northwest Indiana Oilmen were well represented as the Midwest Collegiate League revealed its annual all-league team on Tuesday.  

A trio of Oilmen standouts who played key roles as position players in the team’s 2020 regular season championship were honored as All-MCL players – shortstop Tyler Nelson (Indiana / Crown Point, Ind.), catcher Angelo Cantelo (Lewis / Blue Island, Ill.) and outfielder Nick Anderson (Arkansas Fort Smith / Highland, Ind.). In addition, Kyle Iwinski (Kankakee CC/ Griffith, Ind.) was honored for his pitching prowess while leading the league’s top pitching staff in ERA.

Nelson, a 2020 Andrean High School graduate and incoming Indiana University freshman, led the MCL in both hits (42) and RBIs (29) while also racking up 13 extra-base knocks in 31 games. In addition, he led the Oilmen in runs scored (28) and batting average (.341) while playing quality defense at the shortstop position.

Cantelo, a Marian Catholic High School product, provided leadership skills and worked masterfully with a talented Oilmen pitching staff that finished the season with the league lead in ERA. The Oilmen catcher drove in 25 runs while racking up 11 extra-base knocks over 31 games, finishing with a team-best on-base percentage of .453. He also became the first player in Oilmen history to hit for the cycle, leading to an MCL Player of the Week honor.

Anderson was a picture of consistency at the plate, leading the team in batting average for most of the season before being eclipsed by Nelson by a single point on the final day of the regular year. He hit .340 while driving in 22 runs and scoring 25 in 27 contests. The Highland High School product drew 11 walks and was hit by a pitch seven times while playing errorless defense despite adapting to a new position in left field. Anderson had a knack for clutch spots, delivering a pair of walk-off hits that propelled the Oilmen to key victories.

Iwinski led the team in ERA among starters at 2.40 while walking just six and striking out 32 in 30 innings. He started four of his six outings and held a 2-1 record to represent a stellar Oilmen pitching staff on the all-league squad.

Oilmen All-MCL Honorees By Year

2020 – Nick Anderson, Tyler Nelson, Angelo Cantelo, Kyle Iwinski

2019 – Jackson Dvorak

2018 – Nate Montgomery, Christian Howell, Zaid Walker, Nick Figus

2017 – Amir Wright, Richard Yelnick, Rory Gard

2016 – Tyler Sroczynski, Christian Howell, Stefano Belmonte, Hunter Clark

2015 – Tyler Sroczynski, Stefano Belmonte

2020 MCL Major Awards

MVP – Ray Hilbrich, Crestwood Panthers

Pitcher of the Year – Jordan Smevoll, DuPage County Hounds

Manager of the Year – Isaac Valdez, Crestwood Panthers

2020 MCL All-League Team

P - Seth Masters, DuPage County Hounds

P - Jordan Smevoll, DuPage County Hounds

P - Ryan Louch, DuPage County Hounds

P - Kyle Iwinski, NWI Oilmen

P - Dylan White, Crestwood Panthers

OF - Nick Anderson, NWI Oilmen (unanimous)

OF - Ray Hilbrich, Crestwood Panthers (unanimous)

OF - Ben Jung, Joliet Generals

C - Angelo Cantelo, NWI Oilmen

1B - Patrick Doran, MCL Minutemen

2B - Dylan Robertson, Southland Vikings (unanimous)

SS - Tyler Nelson, NWI Oilmen

3B - Ryan Howe, MCL Minutemen