The Region's Team Of Northwest Indiana


Byrdak, Zebig Named to All-Northern League Team

08/12/2022 9:20 AM -

Whiting, Ind. – Aug. 12, 2022 – A pair of Northwest Indiana Oilmen standouts were recognized as the All-Northern League Team was revealed on Friday.

After posting a .345 batting average, Jack Zebig (Maryville / Plainfield, Ill.) earned all-league status as a middle infielder. He notched seven doubles and three triples while driving in 26 runs, scoring 29 times, walking on 26 occasions and stealing six bases. Zebig reached base at a .444 clip.

The ace of the Oilmen pitching staff as an incoming freshman, CJ Byrdak (Iowa Central CC / Homer Glenn, Ill.) earned all-league status on the mound. He logged 32 1/3 innings and issued 12 walks while striking out 23 en route to compiling a 2.22 ERA and 2-0 record. Byrdak saw action in seven games and made five starts for manager Adam Enright.

2022 Northern League Major Awards 

Manager of the Year - Justin Huisman, Lake County 

MVP - Michael Gould, Joliet  

Pitcher of the Year - Ryan Troxel, Lake County 

2022 All-Northern League Team 

DH - Doug Loden, Lake County 

C - Dino Biggers, Joliet 

OF - Michael Gould, Joliet 

OF - Roman Kuntz, Lake County

OF - Gavin Terry, Lake County 

1B - Brennan Fisher, Joliet 

MIF - Diego Munoz, Joliet 

MIF - Jack Zebig, NWI 

3B - Jimmy Gurgone, Crestwood 

P - Max Everaert, Southland (unanimous) 

P - Ryan Troxel, Lake County (unanimous) 

P - CJ Byrdak, NWI 

P - Charlie Faoro, Crestwood