The Region's Team Of Northwest Indiana


Northwest Indiana Oilmen Send Five To MCL All-Star Game

07/08/2012 6:28 PM -

Northwest Indiana Oilmen Send Five To MCL All-Star Game

The Midwest Collegiate League made their player selections for the MCL All-Star game at Benedictine University, naming five Northwest Indiana Oilmen to the MCL South team. The five players who will represent the Oilmen are pitchers Danny Britt, Joshua Negele, and Jack Cinoman, infielder Cody Dykema, and outfielder Chris Rudenga.

Britt has a 2.65 ERA in thirty-four innings of work.  He has a 4-1 record on the year, and is tied for the most wins in the MCL.  He has struck out twenty-one batters this season.

Joshua Negele’s 1.41 ERA in thirty-two innings of work is second in the MCL for starting pitchers. Negele is 3-0 with twenty-two strike outs. 

Cinoman, who also plays occasionally in the outfield, has a 1-1 record with two saves on the year, tied for first with the most saves in the MCL. He has a 1.08 ERA in 16.2 innings pitched, striking out twenty batters.

Dykema is batting .305 on the year with eight extra base hits and 15 RBIs.  Cody also has an impressive .458 slugging percentage.

Chris Rudenga is batting .289 this season, also with eight extra base hits. He has scored nineteen runs and batted in sixteen.

The MCL All-Star game will be held at Benedictine University in Lisle, Illinois, on Wednesday, July 11th. 

The Northwest Indiana Oilmen, one of eight teams in the 3-year-old Midwest Collegiate League, a pre-minor league summer wood-bat baseball league with teams ranging throughout the Central Midwest, including Rockford, DeKalb County, Will County and the Chicago Southland.