The Region's Team Of Northwest Indiana


Montgomery Wins MCL MVP Award

08/05/2018 7:43 AM -

Chicago, Ill. – Aug. 5, 2018 – The Midwest Collegiate League has released its 2018 all-league team and postseason awards.

The MCL awards and all-league team are based on voting by the league’s managers, broadcasters and official scorers. Voting takes place prior to the first postseason game, so awards are based exclusively on regular-season performance.

Most Valuable Player – Nate Montgomery, Northwest Indiana Oilmen
Stats: .345 AVG, 7 HR, 28 RBIs, 36 Runs, .436 OBP, .605 SLG, 32 Games
Resume: Montgomery earned the respect of opponents and teammates alike during a prosperous summer with the Oilmen. The rising senior at Tusculum dominated the MVP voting, hauling in 60 percent of the vote with no other vote-getter receiving more than 10 percent. Montgomery matched the Oilmen single-season home run record while also garnering an MCL All-Star Game appearance.

Pitcher of the Year – Quinn Gudaitis, Bloomington Bobcats
Stats: 4-4, 2.08 ERA, 50 SO, 20 BB, 9 G, 47 2/3 IP
Gudaitis turned in a strong season for the Bobcats highlighted by three consecutive complete game shutouts in the month of July, helping Bloomington earn a postseason appearance. A two-time MCL Pitcher of the Week, Gudaitis edged Southland’s Anthony Rogers by one vote for the MCL Pitcher of the Year honors. The 2018 MCL All-Star is entering his sophomore year at Illinois Wesleyan University.

Manager of the Year – Ben Caple, DuPage County Hounds
Caple earned his third MCL regular season title in four years as the manager of the Hounds, guiding his team to a 30-13 record (.698 winning percentage), tops in the league by 3 ½ games over second-place Southland. The runner-up in the Manager of the Year voting was Bloomington’s Jake Wegner. 

2018 MCL All-League Team
C – Nate Montgomery, NWI

1B – Brett Stratinsky, Joliet
2B – Dane Toppel, DuPage County
SS – Billy Mote, Bloomington
3B – Cole Blatchford, Crestwood
OF – Zaid Walker, NWI
OF – David Giuliano, DuPage County
OF – Stephen Mogged, DuPage County
UTL – Nick Figus, NWI 
P – Quinn Gudaitis, Bloomington
P – Anthony Rogers, Southland
P – Zach Frey, Bloomington
P – Ryan Czajowski, Joliet
P – Christian Howell, NWI